URBAN DICTIONARY: LIFE SAVER DURING DRAB OFFICE HOURS!- Part 1


urban dictionary

urban dictionary

http://www.urbandictionary .com has been a real boon. Its all about the new lingo and the slangs. Below are a few of the ones I find relateable… but just try to search for any word..decent to ..well..not so decent, and get hilarious definitions.

 

Its one of my favorite sites: and below are the words and phrases that have applied to me, or my friends, one time or another….but believe me, these here are not yet the funniest!

READER’S BLOCK

Related to Writer’s Block, this is when you cannot, for the life of you, pick up a book and read it. Sure, you may be able to read a paragraph or two, or maybe even a page, but you don’t retain anything of what you just read or have the attention span and/or will to go on. This is common for those who have ADD, are in possession of garbage literature, or are just so exhausted from having to read so many books during school/college that reading anything else, even for pleasure, has become impossible. To those who love to read, this is worse than heart disease and cancer combined.

Eddie – Hey, man, I see you’re reading McCarthy’s The Road. Nice. Nerdlinger – I’m trying to read it, but I got this damn reader’s block! I’m 20 pages in but I don’t remember anything. ****!

INVOLUNTARY ‘YOU TOO’

When out of habit you reply to a comment with “You too”. This happens to the best of us.

Two common situations of the Involuntary “You Too”

Girl: Well happy birthday man. Have fun at Sea World tomorrow.
Guy: Thanks, you too.
**uncomfortable silence**

Parent: Drive safe and have fun.
Son: Ok you too.
**uncomfortable silence**

 YOU TUBE MOMENT

A moment or short event where you wish you had a video camera with you. The video equivalent of a kodak moment.
 
DUDEVORCE
 
When two male best freinds officially end thier friendship over a lame disagreement, usually concerning a girl.
 
PK and DJ(the guys) got a dudevorce over TB(the girl).
 
DING DONG DITCH
 
To knock on an anonymous door and run away.
 
“i’m bored let’s go ding dong ditch someone”
 
NITEFLIX
Dreams so complex in plot and rich in production value that they seem like feature length films.
 
Wow! I had niteflix last night. The only thing missing were the end credits.
 
EXTHEIST
Someone who was raised with religion but later abandoned the practice.
 
“Are you an atheist?” “Nah, but I was raised a Catholic. I stopped practicing years ago. I guess you could call me an extheist.
(“Spiritutal but not religious” is passe’… extheist fits perfectly!)
 
NONVERSATION
A completely worthless conversation, wherein nothing is illuminated, explained or otherwise elaborated upon. Typically occurs at parties, bars or other events where meaningful conversation is nearly impossible.
(I have been having nonversions all my life!!!!) 
Tell me what you thought of this post.

