Not Good Enough


I know she is dainty in a “protect me” kind of way,
She makes you feel like she needs you every step of the way.
You feel like a man whenever she is around
She grows all wide eyed at your talk, profound.
 
I’ll never need you
but I want you
Looks like there is a downside of being tough.
I guess that’s why I’ll never be good enough.
 
I heard some psycho-analytical babble on the radio in a car
Trying to tell me your species hail from Mars
While she is Venetian, it is told like a fact
You two were bound to attract.
 
I hail from the 3rd rock from the sun
Whence infuriated, everone feels the need to run
Looks like a lady ought not to be so rough.
I guess that’s why I’ll never be good enough.
I agree her beauty transcends ‘above-average’ manifold
She is smart, sassy, and charms the young and old
She looks serene and gorgeous even asleep
I’ve seen you look at her like you want her for keeps.
 
I am flawed, stained and marked…
my history shows on my face, and my talk
A cynic, I can’t bring myself to believe in *love*
I guess that’s why I’ll never be good enough.
 
 She’ll give you cute babies to father and befriend
She has those motherly genes that seem to be going out of trend
She talks cookery with your mom and Barbies with your kid sister
She shares your lousy taste in ‘Mr. Mister.’
 
I was never fully committed to a relationship like that
I find babies pretty useless without intellect nor tact
I slept through your conversations of work & other stuff
I guess that’s a fair point of  why I’ll never be good enough.
One thought on “Not Good Enough

Tell me what you thought of this post.

