A New Old Friend


There is calm now, inside of me
Peace, long overdue
I befriended a foe, smiled and took her hand
And the weight on my shoulders lifted, as if on cue

I still have enough fight left in me
To fuel nightmares and fears
But it’s a wasted battle of no consequence
I finally realized after years

The confrontation was raw and crass
And reeked of a potential aftermath
But I surrendered my weapons, and shook that hand
And agreed to have faith, down every path

There is calm now, in my being
Even if, it came at a small fee
It was a long time coming; I doubted if it’ll ever arrive
The day I befriended me

One thought on “A New Old Friend

Tell me what you thought of this post.

