Old World Romance


Sliver of the moon, just a whisper of light
saxophone melody, that mystified the night
Tentative touch, of being led at dance
If only I could star in an old world romance

Hand written letters of hope and desire
When just one look could set our hearts on fire
Where every moment together is a matter of chance
If only I could star in an old world romance

Flowers and conversation, more time it’d take
Nothing could redeem the longing or the wait
The lads be careful with words, the maids shy to glance
If only I could star in an old world romance

Disappoint yet, I belong to this day and age
The courtship I seek lies dying in a brittle, yellowed page
Of crass words and overtures, and moving to another just at once
I wait still, in the hope of an old world romance.

Tell me what you thought of this post.

