Absent Innocence


Love and loss, or a change of heart
When romance grew as miles grew apart
To chance that chance whilst on the fence
Alas, I belong to an age of absent innocence
 
Forced to grow, mature and thrive
Dead inside, you fake that you are alive
When every wayward clamor makes you tense
I belong to the age of absent innocence
 
One fine day, you wake up and find
You lost your youth to the moneyed grind
A choice you made in your youth and hence
I stand a victim of absent innocence
 
What I would give to have one chance
To lose my mind, to stray, to dance
When sensibility ceases to make sense
I become the propagator of absent innocence.
2 thoughts on “Absent Innocence

Tell me what you thought of this post.

